Skip to content

Darjeeling Toy Train Ticket Booking Online Process 2023

The Darjeeling Toy Train is a unique and memorable way to explore the scenic beauty of Darjeeling. Also known as the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway (DHR), it is a UNESCO World Heritage Site that runs on a narrow gauge track between New Jalpaiguri and Darjeeling.

The train covers a distance of 88 km and climbs from an altitude of 100 m to 2,200 m, passing through lush green valleys, tea gardens, forests, bridges, tunnels, loops, and curves.


The Darjeeling Toy Train offers different types of services, such as the joyride, the passenger service, and the charter service. The most popular one is the joyride, which is a two-hour round trip from Darjeeling to Ghum and back.

You can book your toy train tickets online through the IRCTC Website, through authorized agents, or at the Darjeeling Railway Station. It is always advised to book in advance as the seats are limited and are in high demand.

In this article, you will get to know how to book Darjeeling Toy Train tickets online on the following routes,

Let’s see each of these points in detail.

Darjeeling To Ghum Toy Train (Joyride)

Darjeeling Station CodeDJ
Joyride Station CodeDJRZ
Travel Duration1 hr 45 minutes
Ticket Price*DIESEL JOYRIDE: Rs. 1000, STEAM JOYRIDE: Rs. 1500

*May vary.


The Darjeeling Toy Train Joyride starts from Darjeeling and takes you to the Ghum Station. It takes about 35-45 minutes to reach. The toy train makes a 20-minute halt at the Ghum Station. Then it starts its journey back to Darjeeling.

There are several trains that run throughout the day. Make sure to check the name of the toy trains before booking as it signifies if the train is run by a diesel engine or a steam engine, or if it has a Vistadome coach. I personally prefer the ones with the Vistadome coach as it provides a better view due to the large glass windows.

You can get spectacular views of the natural landscape and get to visit popular attractions like the ‘Batasia Loop‘ along the way.

Kurseong To Darjeeling Toy Train

Darjeeling Station CodeDJ
Kurseong Station CodeKGN
Travel Duration2 hr 45 minutes
Ticket Price*Rs. 750

New Jalpaiguri To Darjeeling Toy Train

Darjeeling Station CodeDJ
New Jalpaiguri Station CodeNJP
Travel Duration7 hr 30 minutes
Ticket Price*Rs. 1500


Steps to book Darjeeling Toy Train ticket online

To book a Darjeeling Toy Train ticket online,

Step 1: Go to the official website of IRCTC

‘Book Ticket’ option on the IRCTC website
  1. First, go to the official website of IRCTC at
  2. Next, hover over the ‘Trains’ option and click on the ‘Book Ticket’ option on the top menu.
  3. Next, log in to your account using your username and password.

(Direct link to book ticket)

If you don’t have an account, you can check out the steps to create an IRCTC account.

In case you are a foreign national, you need to choose the ‘Foreign Ticket Booking’ option instead of the ‘Book Ticket’ option.

Step 2: Enter your travel details

Enter travel details page
  1. Once you are logged in, select the source station. Enter DJ (for Darjeeling), NJP (for New Jalpaiguri), and KGN (for Kurseong).
  2. Next, for the destination station. Enter DJRZ (which stands for To Darjeeling) if you want the Toy Train Joyride. Select the usual station name for other routes.
  3. Next, select the date when you want to take the toy train ride.
  4. Next, click on the ‘Search’ button.


Step 3: Select train and enter passenger details

Select train page
  1. The list of trains on that particular date will be displayed
  2. Choose the type of train you want to book and click on the type of class you want.
  3. Next, click on the ‘Passenger Details’ button. A new page will open.
  4. Next, enter the passenger details and other related details to book a ticket.
  5. Next, click on the ‘Review Journey Details’ button.
  6. A new page will open.

Step 4: Complete the payment process

  1. At the bottom, your total amount will be displayed.
  2. Next, click on the ‘Pay Now’ button.
  3. Next, choose any of the available modes of payment such as debit card, credit card, net banking, UPI, etc., and follow the instructions on the screen to complete the payment process.
  4. After payment completion, a confirmation message will be displayed.
  5. An e-ticket for your booking will be displayed and also sent to your email ID.


Step 5: Download or print your e-ticket

  1. You can click on ‘Print’ and save it as PDF to directly download your e-ticket.
  2. You can also download it later from your Email ID.

By following these steps, you can easily book your Darjeeling toy train ticket online and enjoy a scenic ride through the hills of Darjeeling.

You can also check or cancel your booking using the PNR number generated.

By following these steps, you can easily book the Darjeeling Toy Train from New Jalpaiguri, Kurseong, or book the Darjeeling – Ghum Joyride easily from the official website of IRCTC.

The Darjeeling toy train offers a scenic and nostalgic ride through the hills of Darjeeling. So you must try this amazing experience at least once to see the engineering marvel and the natural beauty of the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway.

Some other articles you might like

Disclaimer: Some of the links provided in the article may contain affiliate links. This means when you book or buy something using these links, you help support the website at no extra cost.